“In diving to the bottom of pleasure we bring up more gravel than pearls”

March 28, 2007 at 3:18 am (Diving, Kota Kinabalu)

I have just spent a week in KK (Kota Kinabalu), the north-west coast of the island of Borneo. It’s been hot hot hot and I am Brown brown brown. I have sucessfully completed my PADI Open Water Diver certification and am now a certified diver. That’s diver spelt D I V E R, not D I VA .

The past week has been spent deep sea diving around Pulau Sapi & Pulau Sulug, the uninhabited islands which are part of Tunku Abdul Rahman National Park . I have seen some amazing stuff, including coral reefs and Nemo and all his friends.

It’s pretty cheap to dive here, in comparison to the UK obviously. It’s not free or anything but the travel expenses etc. are much less. However this may still be far too expensive a hobby to maintain back in the UK and I’m not sure the north sea holds the same appeal as the tropical waters of the South China sea.

My only concern is that with learning to drive and learning to drive, is that this new knowledge has to go somewhere and I am afraid it may push out the old knowledge out and I may forget something really important like, how to read. 

Leave a Reply

