“No matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.”

February 9, 2007 at 4:14 pm (librarians, libraries)

So coming up to six months in sunny South East Asia and I have started to notice now that the things I thought were odd, like curry for breakfast without having been on a bender the night before all appear perfectly normal now and not worthy of note any more. How quickly the novelty wears off. Work is work, I am still a school librarian in a country where books are inaccessible and for the most part unwanted. I’m working hard against the culture but I’m not sure I’m actually achieving anything.

I fear the repeated banging of my head against the brick wall but on the plus side I am eager to find out how good it feels when it all stops.

On Wednesday, the books I ordered in October turned up . See, it’s perfectly normal here to order something, pay in advance and then not see sight nor sound of it for the best part of four months. The best bit about that is it might be with the company you’ve ordered it from alternatively it might be in the big empty room in school that maintenance store their parcels in. I’m not sure why they store them there rather that just (whacked out idea ahead) delivering them to the right room, but when ever you mention this to someone who has been here longer than a month, they just shake there head sadly and sigh “Yes Ma’am”.

Leave a Reply

